List Of All Prime Ministers Of India With Photo (1947 to 2022)

List Of All Prime Ministers Of India With Pictures

Last Updated: 2 June 2022

India follows a Parliamentary System. The Prime Minister of India is the Chief of the Executive of the Government and presiding Head of the Government.

Eligibility For The Prime Minister Of India:

  • Should be a Citizen of India
  • Should be a Member of the Lok Sabha or the Rajya Sabha
  • Should be above 25 years of age if He/She is a Member of the Lok Sabha and above 30 years if He/She is a Member of the Rajya Sabha
  • He/She should not hold any office of profit under the state government or government of India

List Of All Prime Ministers Of India

No.NamePartyTerm InTerm Out
1Jawaharlal NehruINC05 Aug 194727 May 1964
Gulzarilal NandaINC27 May 196409 Jun 1964
2Lal Bahadur ShastriINC09 Jun 196411 Jan 1966
Gulzarilal NandaINC11 Jan 196624 Jan 1966
3Indira GandhiINC24 Jan 196624 Mar 1977
4Morarji DesaiJP24 Mar 197728 Jul 1979
5Charan SinghJP(S)28 July 197914 Jan 1980
Indira GandhiINC14 Jan 198031 Oct 1984
6Rajiv GandhiINC31 Oct 198402 Dec 1989
7V. P. SinghJD02 Dec 198910 Nov 1990
8Chandra ShekharSJP10 Nov 199021 Jun 1991
9P. V. Narasimha RaoINC21 Jun 199116 May 1996
10Atal Bihari VajpayeeBJP16 May 199601 Jun 1996
11H. D. Deve GowdaJD01 Jun 199621 Apr 1997
12Inder Kumar GujralJD21 Apr 199719 Mar 1998
Atal Bihari VajpayeeBJP19 Mar 199822 May 2004
13Manmohan SinghINC22 May 200426 May 2014
14Narendra ModiBJP26 May 2014Incumbent

Full-Forms Of Party Names

1INCIndian National Congress
2JPJanata Party
3JP(S)Janata Party (Secular)
4JDJanata Dal
5SJPSamajwadi Janata Party
6BJPBharatiya Janata Party

Related: New Union Cabinet Ministers Of India List With PDF (2022)

Power And Function Of Prime Minister Of India

  • Prime Minister nominates the Members of their Party to the President. In simple words, he proposes the names of the Members of his Political Party to the President for appointment as Ministers.
  • The Prime Minister of India is responsible for aiding and advising the president in the distribution of work of the government to various ministries and offices.
  • Prime Minister is in charge of:
    • Cabinet Secretariat
    • Appointments Committee of the Cabinet
    • Cabinet Committee on Security
    • Ministry of Personnel, Public Grievances, and Pensions
    • Cabinet Committee on Economic Affairs
    • NITI Aayog
    • Department of Atomic Energy
    • Department of Space
    • Nuclear Command Authority
  • Prime Minister represents India in various delegations, high-level meetings, and international organizations.
  • He/She addresses also the nation on various issues of national or other importance.
  • Prime Minister recommends the president of India, names for the appointment of:
    • Chief Election Commissioner of India (CEC)
    • Comptroller and Auditor General of India (C&AG)
    • Chairperson and Members of the Union Public Service Commission (UPSC)
    • Commissioners of India (ECs)
    • Chairperson and Members of the finance commission (FC)
    • Solicitor General of India (SG) and Attorney General of India (AG)
    • Chief Information Commissioner of India (CIC) and Information Commissioners of India
  • He/She can suggest the President of India for the resignation or removal of any Minister from his Cabinet.
  • Prime Minister can resign anytime and can suggest the President dissolve the Cabinet.
  • He/She can suggest the President dissolve Lok Sabha and to organize fresh elections.
  • Prime Minister also exercises the control over Indian Administrative Service (IAS)
Read More